Going Green 2

So, my Vitamix arrived a few days ago and the tastiest green smoothie I have so far discovered is spinach leaves with banana. It is much easier to eat a lot of green leaves if they are mixed with a fruit. Banana works well, blackcurrant not so well. It is important to note that the green tops of vegetables such as carrots and beetroot are the most valuable part! Don’t throw them away, blend them instead with other greens and fruit to make a deliciously nutritious smoothie. Even just green leaves on their own with a bit of lime is quite tasty – obviously don’t try this with bitter ones such as watercress, speaking from a very recent experience! Apple works well with every type of green leafy vegetable I have tried so far, including carrot tops which are actually quite nice.

I have also used the Vitamix to make great sauces to go with vegetables or fish using very little ingredients such as garlic, red pepper, lime and pumpkin seed oil, no cooking necessary. It is so quick and easy to experiment with the Vitamix that I am already getting quite good at knowing what goes well together. I made a Gerson carrot/apple juice yesterday and it was much nicer than I expected. I didn’t use a green apple however, because I couldn’t find any organic green ones, so it wasn’t really a Gerson juice…I’m sure it was good for me anyway. I have found that celery gives a smoothie a nice kick.  I am trying to eat only organic fruit and veg but finding it very expensive. If you are trying to do the same, look for a local organic growing scheme, the closest to me is organicalea in Waltham Forest, but there is also one in Hackney and I imagine that it is easier outside of London, wherever you are in the world, have a look on the internet for a scheme near you.

This new blender is incredible. I made some delicious peanut butter with just dry roasted peanuts! Obviously I have to be careful about how much I have due to the saturated fat content, but it was so satisfying to make my own. I will try sunflower seed butter today, which will be slightly healthier!

Leave a Reply

